Money, Power, Disrespect

I know I’m late, but I started watching the new Stars drama “Power” last night. I know most of y’all were so busy watching Omari Harwick that you didn’t even see the show. I was watching the show. Not Omari. I ain’t even notice Omari and his rippling muscles and tattoos and glistening nekkid skin. Nope not even a little bit.

I’m only one episode into the series but I’ve got beef already. Not because he’s going to step out on his wife with the cute Puerto Rican blast from the past. That’s wack but I’m not surprised. MY beef is with Naturi Naughton’s character, “Tasha St. Patrick ”.

Why in the name of Black Jesus was she jilling off in the back seat for the driver in all her pretty brown skinned glory? Lawd. I cant. She needs to have a seat. With her clothes on. And her legs closed. She should have carried her ass home if she was mad. I don’t know if she was listening to Yonce and got confused but Partition is about rolling UP the partition. Not rolling it down. Aint nothing flawless about being petty and childish enough to put on a freak show for someone that works for your husband because you didn’t get the attention you wanted.

Not only are these hoes not loyal they aren’t even smart or strategic. Maybe it’s me, but I would have sidled up right next to my husband, introduced myself to the mystery woman as his wife, gushed over her dress and gave that chick a silent warning a la nivea “don’t mess with my man, imma be the one to bring it to ya”

Don’t act like you don’t remember that song. You remember, and that chick would have remembered too when she was blasting Alanis Morisette’s Ironic and crying into her Hagan daas that night.

Maybe it’s me but I think that if you marry a man in a seat of power you must also rise to that level of power. Ghost shouldn’t have had to tell Tasha to stop looking like a chick desperate to get into a club he owns. She should known to put on a sexy yet respectable dress instead of putting it all out there. It’s not rocket science and the feminists can be mad at me if they want to but how you dress matters. If you dress like a doctor do people not expect you to be a medically trained professional? Same goes for freakem dresses. People will treat you like a freak.

It makes no sense that she would rather her husband remain a drug dealer to amass more wealth when they clearly have more than they need to build a legit legacy. These heffas love money but can’t even stay focused enough to stop distracting their husbands with BS. Nothing good can come of Tasha’s antics.

“Power” is just a show but the problem extends beyond fictional characters. Real life wifes are out here struggling to get it together too. If Tameka “Tiny” Harris doesn’t sit her $5 ass down TI is gonna make change! All the trouble they have been into minus the gun charges that sent TIP to jail have been centered around some childish, petty shit Tiny did. Jacking him off in the visiting station, ecstasy pills in the Maybach , kee-keeing it up with Floyd Mayweather, and now she wrote a ratchet girl anthem “WTFUGD?”. It’s the new “earn me”. Side chicks and baby mamas everywhere are changing their ringtones this very instant.

I’m no relationship expert by any means. I’ve only been in two that mattered and one of them was an epic fail. We’ll see how this new one pans out. However, I do know deacons’ wives and first ladies aren’t the only ones with roles to play. If you marry a powerful man you have to stop thinking like a down ass chick and be a boss chick. Fighting for attention and disrespecting your man in public is never a good idea but it’s even worse if you’re in the spotlight and/or have a lot to lose.

What do y’all think? Does money and power require relationship parameters and expectations to change? Am I missing something? Are Tasha and Tiny justified?

Leave a comment